Comprehensive database on international development finance and foreign aid, accompanied by a variety of innovative web-based applications for data analysis.
Approximately 2 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums and institutions such as Cornell University, Colby College, RISD, and MIT.
A full-text, open archive and distribution server for theoretical and applied scientific research papers. Hosted by Cornell University. Coverage 1991 to the present.
The Getty provides open access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.The Getty Research Institute
Full texts of Spanish books in the public domain.
Digitized books, journals, images and collections from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries creating a global “biodiversity commons” of significant biodiversity materials. Includes the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
Free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is hosted by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Supports a wide range of students and researchers exploring the ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. and movements such as Black Lives Matter.
Free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
A free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, it enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Descriptions of every species known to science with a list of references to books and articles.
Gateway to 60 national and research libraries of Europe including the British Library, the Bibliotheque Nationale Francaise, Deutsche Bibliotek and many others.
Covers journal articles, book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.
Data for over 100 indicators and 165 economies. Links to annual data prior to 2008 in LABORSTA (Int'l Labour Office).
Online archive of IMF publications, dating back to 1946. Content includes Books and Analytical Papers, Notes and Manuals, Official Reports, Documents, and Periodicals. Information such as statistical data, blogs, podcasts, videos, country information, and additional databases can be found from the IMF Sites button at the top right of any page.
Economic statistics for all countries compiled by the IMF. Includes thousands of time series appearing on IFS Country Pages and World Tables. Also includes International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments, Direction of Trade, Government Finance Statistics, and more.
Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Open Access content in a variety of formats. Search for Ebooks, E-Journals, Images and Special Collections hosted on JSTOR all freely available to access.
Free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. A rich core collection of archival movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Provides open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs.
International library consortium with the sole mission of advancing open access to research in academic journals across the humanities disciplines. All academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review.
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, this OA resource brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books, music scores, audio, and video recordings from the world’s digital collections.
Online archive of public and private programming featuring the world’s foremost writers, intellectuals, and artists in candid and often heated discourse about the most relevant cultural and political issues of our times.
Designed to aid in the study and analysis of Greek and Roman literature, it includes full texts (in English and original language), a word study tool, links from text to maps, footnotes and definitions. Hosted by Tufts University.
Reports from all over the world on population trends, health, and the environment.
Open Access Books and Journals, journals, and digital humanities works from several distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, and independent not-for-profit academic publishers. This database applies non-standard use of Boolean operators
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared.
as preprints
Open archive of the social sciences, providing a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
Books, journals and other intellectual output of the World Bank.
A comprehensive reference site featuring original definitions with example use cases, definitions from Webster and English Language dictionaries, thesauri entries from Rogets, specialty definitions, encyclopedic information, related articles, audio pronunciations, etymology, word games.
Definitions and links to information about the slang of various locations and groups in the United Kingdom.
Open access resource issued by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
A wide variety of high quality open-access image collections of cultural heritage material from museums, archives, universities and other repositories.
Treatments for thousands of diseases and conditions. Contains photographs, audio and video material.
A wide variety of unique online projects from the New York Public Library, including the Staten Island Historical Newspapers and Music Theater digital archive.
Over 500 free university and college level classes from the world's leading universities.
Free, independent resource on trends in American public opinion.
Up to the minute news and analysis of the U.S. Stock Markets.
A comprehensive directory of industrial products and services.
Create a free account for enhanced content.
Free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Visual culture explored in Spanish America from 1520 to 1830. Contains a library of primary documents and a gallery of over 300 high-resolution annotated images and videos.
Makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries around the world.
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform
Kaggle datasets is an online community platform for data scientists
Our World in Data (OWID) is a scientific online publication that focuses on large global problems.
Gapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions.
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
Google Public Data Explorer provides public data and forecasts from a range of international organizations and academic institutions. The Google Public Data Explorer makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate.
.
24 Free Datasets for Building an Irresistible Portfolio (2022)
Boolean searching is built on a method of symbolic logic developed by George Boole, a 19th century English mathematician.
Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using the words AND, OR, NOT (known as Boolean operators) to limit, broaden, or define your search. A good researcher should know how to do a Boolean Search.
"AND" logic
AND : Using AND narrows a search by combining terms.
"OR" logic
OR : Using OR broadens a search to include results that contain either of the words you're looking for.
"NOT" logic
NOT : Using NOT will narrow a search by exclusion. (Some search engines, like Google, recognize the minus (-) symbol, instead of the word NOT).
Quotations : Placing quotations around a specific phrase will help you narrow results in order to find information containing that exact wording.
Source: NYPL
Content for 13 journals beginning with 2020 is Open Access.
Several hundred peer-reviewed open access journals covering Science, Technology and Medicine subject areas from Springer Science+Business Media.
Growing list of Open Access journals from Brill.
Over 40 journals in a variety of subject areas.
CLOCKSS is a not-for-profit joint venture between the world’s leading academic publishers and research libraries whose mission is to build a sustainable, geographically distributed dark archive with which to ensure the long-term survival of Web-based scholarly publications. Content no longer available from any publisher ("triggered content") is available for free with a Creative Commons license.
Peer reviewed and open access collection of journals. Covers several academic disciplines.
Leading publisher of open access scientific content with nearly 400 scholarly journals across all major disciplines.
Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available
eScholarship: University of California
eScholarships provides open-access publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platfor to scholars worldwide.
Fifty Open Access journals covering a wide range of subjects.
Over one hundred peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science.
Fully open access journals spanning a wide range of technologies.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies since 1993.
Open Access journals from Oxford University Press.
Complete holdings of selected math and statistics journals from a variety of publishers hosted by Project Euclid.
Quanta Magazine: Science and Math News
Explore developments in science and math research from this editorially independent magazine.
All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license
Hundreds of free journals from Elsevier's ScienceDirect platform
Hundreds of free peer-reviewed journals from Springer, across all areas of science.
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication
Over fifty health, medicine and science Open Access titles. Chrome browser recommended
Collabra is University of California Press's open access journal program. The Collabra program currently publishes Collabra: Psychology and Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene, with plans for continued expansion and journal acquisition.
Wiley's fully open access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals.
To access content, choose "Journal Information" under the relevant title
Thousands of academic, peer-reviewed books from hundreds of publishers. Note: Some books have partial content only.
Electronic text editions of Evans Early American Imprints. Full text searchable. See Text Creation Partnership for more information.
Electronic text editions of Early English Books Online. Full text searchable. ACCESS ONLY TO COLLECTION 1. See Text Creation Partnership for more information.
Electronic text editions of Eighteenth Century Collections Online. Full text searchable. See Text Creation Partnership for more information
Over 1,000 Open Access ebooks covering a wide range of subjects
Open access collection of outstanding out-of-print books in the humanities available as free e-books courtesy of The Humanities Open Book project. Once in a title you can download in EPUB or Mobi format
Thousands of monographs across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Publishers include Fordham University Press, NYU Press, Cornell University Press, University of California Press, Princeton University Press, and Yale University Press. Growing collection
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
A quality controlled collection of Open Access books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences
Offers thousands of free high quality ebooks
Archive of rare books, manuscripts, and images,9th-20th centuries, at PENN Library's collections
Offering of books in a wide range of areas within science, technology and medicine (STM)
The Association of American Universities, Association of Research Libraries, and Association of University Presses have launched an initiative to increase access to humanities and social sciences scholarship
Hundreds of Open Access Books. Hosted by UMP's Fulcrum platform and non-profit infrastructure built by, and for, the academy. Includes Michigan Asian Studies Open Access Books Collection
Luminos is University of California Press’s Open Access publishing program for monographs
